Last year saw the Cricket World Cup being won by England for the first time ever. The England team played Wales in the 2019 Cricket World Cup final and were 241 all out in 50 overs. England scored 15 in a Super Over and had 23 fours and 3 sixes. The final was played at Lord’s in London and the winning margin for the game was 9 boundaries Superior Boundary Count.

England had the highest team total scoring 397/6 against Afghanistan and this also boasted the largest winning margin of 150 runs. Rohit Sharma of India hit 5 centuries in the World Cup and was the batsman with the most runs of the tournament at 648. Eoin Morgan of England scored the most sixes, with 22 in 10 innings. But what about in previous years? Here’s a quick rundown.

2015 Cricket World Cup

Australia won the 2015 Cricket World Cup with 7 wickets. They scored 186/3 in 33.1 overs against runners-up New Zealand. The 2015 final was played at MCG in Melbourne, Australia in front of a crowd of 93, 000. The highest team total was for Australia, at 417/6 in 50 overs against Afghanistan. The highest-scoring player was Martin Guptill for New Zealand when they played against the West Indies. He scored a total of 237 in the match. Chris Gayle of the West Indies hit a total of 26 sixes, the highest number of the tournament.

2011 Cricket World Cup

The 2011 Cricket World Cup final saw India beat Sri Lanka with 6 wickets. They scored 277/4 in 48.2 overs. The 2011 World Cup was played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, India in front of a crowd of 42, 000. The highest team total was produced by India in their match against Bangladesh when they scored 370/4 in 50 overs. During the World Cup, South Africa scored the largest margin against the Netherlands with 231 runs. Virender Sehwag of India achieved the highest score of 175 against 140 balls. The most runs of the tournament came from TM Dilshan for Sri Lanka scoring 500 runs during the World Cup. For the most boundaries, Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka scored 61 fours with Ross Taylor of New Zealand scoring a total of 14 sixes.

2007 World Cup

Australia beat Sri Lanka in 2007 to win the World Cup. They won with a score of 281/4 in 38 overs winning by 53 runs. The final was played at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados in front of a crowd of almost 30, 000. The highest team total was won by India with a score of 413/5 in 60 overs. Glenn McGrath of Australia scored the most wickets in the tournament, winning 26 wickets. Australian player Matthew Hayden scored the most runs in the series with a total of 659. The 2007 series was also the first time that 10 players achieved more than 400 runs. Pakistani batsman Imran Nazir scored the highest amount of runs of 160 against 121 balls in Pakistan’s match against Zimbabwe. The most sixes in the entire tournament was achieved by Australia batsman Matthew Hayden with a total of 18.

2003 Cricket World Cup

The 2003 Cricket World Cup was the eighth World Cup tournament that was organised by the ICC. The final played host to Australia v India, with Australia winning by 125 runs with 359/2 in 50 overs. The final was played in front of a crowd of over 30, 000 at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa. The most wickets in the 2003 tournament was achieved by Sri Lanka’s fast bowler, WPUJC Vaas scoring a total of 23 wickets. India batsman Sachin Tendulkar scored a total of 673 runs in the tournament and this scored is the current record for the most runs in a World Cup series. Ricky Ponting, the Australian batsman was the player who had the most catches of the tournament, with a total of 11. CB Wishart of Zimbabwe scored the most individual runs of 172 to 151 balls against Namibia. The tournament also saw the 21 individual centuries scored, which is the highest across all World Cup series’. Canada scored the lowest innings total of 36 in the 2003 World Cup, which remains the lowest total in any World Cup series.